• bmla-logo

About us

About us

The British Medical Laser Association (BMLA) was founded in 1980 and is the leading society for medical lasers in the UK. It’s membership comprises a wide range of individuals, including dermatologists, surgeons, nurses, beauty therapists, manufacturers, researchers and safety advisors. The BMLA is a Registered Charity No. 800062

The British Medical Laser Association is a scientific society established to:

  • Promote the safe operation of lasers and light based technology in the treatment of human diseases.
  • Promote research and development in laser and light based technology in medicine and by the publication of the useful results of such research.
  • Establish standards in the medical application of lasers and light based technology.
  • Promote collaboration and understanding between clinical and scientific disciplines in the field of laser and light based technology application.

Vishal Madan
Vishal Madan MBBS (Hons).MD.FRCP
BMLA President 

Dr Vishal Madan is a fully qualified and GMC recognised (on Specialist Register) Consultant Dermatologist.
email: vishal.madan@srft.nhs.uk
website: www.ukdermatologist.co.uk

Vasant Oswal
Vasant Oswal MBBS, DORL, MS, DLO, FRCS
BMLA Vice-President 

Vasant Oswal is an Emeritus Consultant Otolaryngologist at the James Cook University and a recognized world authority in Lasers in ENT.
email: voswal@aol.com

Jon Exley
Dr Jon Exley PhD, MBA
BMLA Honorary Secretary 
Managing Director, Lynton
email: jexley@lynton.co.uk
website: www.lynton.co.uk

Harry Mosley
Prof. Harry Mosley
Emeritus President of the BMLA
email: h.moseley@dundee.ac.uk

Clare Beach

Clare Beach
BMLA Association and Conference Manager
email: office@bmla.co.uk

Sanjay Rajpara
Dr Sanjay Rajpara MD (I), FRCP
Consultant Dermatologist, Derm(Mohs) surgeon and laser specialist NHS Grampian and NHS Tayside, BMI Albyn hospital, SKn Aberdeen, ACE dermatology ltd.
email: sanjay.rajpara@nhs.net

Firas Al-Niaimi
Firas Al-Niaimi
Consultant Dermatologist
email: firas55@hotmail.com

Stan Batchelor
Stan Batchelor
Laser and Radiation Protection Adviser.
email: standadviser@gmail.com

Maninder Kalkat
Dr Maninder Kalkat
Cardio-Thoracic Surgeon, Birmingham
email: maninder.kalkat@heartofengland.nhs.uk

Tom Lister
Tom Lister
Physicist at Salisbury District Hospital
His interests include skin laser treatments and research into optical diagnostics.
email: tom.lister@salisbury.nhs.uk

Samira Syed
Dr Samira Syed. MBBs DCH DCCH RCPEd RCGP FCM
Paediatric Dermatologist, Great Ormond Street Hospital
email: SamiraBatul.Syed@gosh.nhs.uk
website: www.gosh.nhs.uk/